Home

About

Elsewhere on the Web

Google ScholarResearch GateLinkedInTradéco ODFT

 Who I am

Chantal Gagnon, OTTIAQ certified translator, has been an associate professor at Université de Montréal since 2011. There, she teaches business and economic translation. From 2005 to 2011, she has worked at Concordia University, where she was teaching translation and coordinating translation internships programs.

This scholar’s research deals with relationships between translation and questions of politics. In recent years, she has especially studied translation of political speeches in Canada. In fact, her PhD studies at Aston University in the UK dealt with this particular issue. For instance, Dr. Gagnon has showed that in certain contexts, the translation of the word ‘Canada’ has ideological repercussions, in that the translation reveals different values from one language to the next.

Recently, Chantal Gagnon has conducted research on ideologies in the financial press, with her colleague Pier-Pascale Boulanger from Concordia University. These scholars have explored themes such as transparency and symbolic violence in the Canadian financial press. With their research team, they have launched a blog on translation and finance, the Observatoire du discours financier en traduction.

 

Conctact information

Association ProfessorPhoto_Chantal Gagnon pour blogue - copie 2

Département de linguistique et traduction
Pavillon Lionel-Groulx, bureau C-9016
Université de Montréal
Case postale 6128, succursale Centre-ville
Montreal (Quebec) H3C 3J7

Phone : 1+ (514) 343-6462
Email : chantal.gagnon.4@umontreal.ca

Accueil

À propos

Présence Web

Google ScholarResearch GateLinkedInTradécoODFT

Courte biographie

Chantal Gagnon, traductrice agréée, est professeure adjointe à l’Université de Montréal depuis 2011, où elle enseigne la traduction commerciale et économique. De 2005 à 2011, elle a travaillé à l’Université Concordia. Parmi ses tâches, elle enseignait la traduction et elle dirigeait le programme des stages en traduction de l’Université Concordia.

Les recherches de cette professeure portent sur la relation entre la traduction et les questions politiques. Au cours des dernières années, elle a tout particulièrement étudié la traduction des discours politiques au Canada. Ses études de doctorat, effectuées à Aston University au Royaume-Uni, portaient d’ailleurs sur ce domaine. Par exemple, elle a démontré que dans certains contextes, la traduction du mot « Canada » a une dimension idéologique importante, en ce sens que la traduction véhicule des valeurs différentes d’une langue à l’autre.

Récemment, Chantal Gagnon a également entamé des recherches sur l’idéologie dans la traduction financière, avec sa collègue Pier-Pascale Boulanger de l’Université Concordia. Ces chercheuses ont notamment abordé les thèmes de la transparence et de la violence symbolique dans les pages financières de la presse canadienne. Avec leur équipe, elles tiennent un blogue sur la traduction et les finances, l’Observatoire du discours financier en traduction.

 

Coordonnées

Professeure adjointe Photo_Chantal Gagnon pour blogue - copie 2

Département de linguistique et traduction
Pavillon Lionel-Groulx, bureau C-9016
Université de Montréal
Case postale 6128, succursale Centre-ville
Montréal (Québec) H3C 3J7

Téléphone : 1+ (514) 343-6462
Courriel : chantal.gagnon.4@umontreal.ca